

lawrence history center

2020-2021 EARTHA DENGLER HISTORY AWARD CEREMONY

in honor of

ARMAND M. HYATT

thursday, september 9, 2021





With profound gratitude to our honoree—Armand M. Hyatt— his Family, our Host Committee, Sponsors, Friends, and many others whose contributions have made the 2020—2021 Eartha Dengler History Award Ceremony possible...

EVENT SPONSORS

Heritage Leaders

The Grossi Family Liberty Mutual Insurance Salem Co-operative Bank

Founder's Club

Lawrence CommunityWorks PERFECT CRIME Pamela Yameen

Immigrant City Circle

The Eartha Dengler Family Enterprise Bank Kristen Harol and Chad Montrie Shelley and Joseph German Karen and Jack Herman Jackson Kitchen Designs Jackson Lumber & Millwork The Paley Family Silverio Insurance Agency Syramad Properties, Inc.

Preservation Partners

Lynn Boda-Menery, Michael Menery and Family Eugene Declercq and Patricia Jaysane Doherty Insurance Agency, Inc. Samuel Facella II Robert Forrant Kay Berthold Frishman and Ron Hilbink John and Ann-Marie Giarrusso and Family Klein Horning LLP LCW CPAs NeighborWorks America Rosman Family Fund Mark Svendsen Al Torrisi and Lynne Sullivan The Family of William Madison Wood

Research Sponsors

Andover Bread Loaf Larry and Linda Ardito Ardito, Toscano & McCollum, P.C Joseph G. Bella CEDAC—Community Economic Development Assistance Corporation Kathleen Curry Mark Cutler D'Angelo Engineering & Development Gomez & Palumbo, LLC Shawn and Lanya Hayden Bob and Hilary Keating *(In Memory of Gary Thomas Keating)* Richard and Donna Mignault, Dorothy Diorio MILL240 Apartments Michael and Mary Joan Morris Mary and Jim Pannos Parkside Apartments Jurg and Linda Siegenthaler Three Saints, Inc. Tom Walsh Washington Mills Lofts Apartments

Historic Friends

Andrea Management Corporation Llana Barber and Omar Wilson Tom and Eleanor Caffrey Joseph and Kathleen Carroll Michael P. Coleman Alida Davis Marilvn Freeman Mary L. Girouard Thomas D. Gradzewicz **Diane Havnes** Bob Lloyd Michael Lomazzo Donna Mailloux James Maior Richard and Joan McCarthy David Meehan Ellen Minzner Richard and Lori Padova Theresa Park The Shaheen Family Jonas A. Stundzia J. Kenneth Taylor Senator Sue and Mike Tucker The Wall Family

With special thanks to ...

The Nuñez Family (Hosts) LaPlume & Sons Printing Lawrence International High School Students Lussier Photography The Party Connection Perlmutter Photography The Wobblies



the lawrence history center board of directors proudly present

ARMAND M. HYATT

RECIPIENT OF THE 2020-2021 EARTHA DENGLER HISTORY AWARD

faith - family - service

Son of a founding member of Lazarus House Ministries, Armand Hyatt is at once an attorney, community advocate, musician, poet, mentor, and surfer. And he is, above all, a leader who has used his prodigious talents to bring Lawrence CommunityWorks into existence, and to benefit Lawrence and nearby communities in countless other ways for decades. Armand's love of family is unmistakable. So are his generous spirit, his infectious optimism, and his powerful faith in God. These qualities are there for all to see and learn from, be they pro bono clients of his law firm, young people he coaches and mentors, fellow musicians with the *Wobblies*, residents of Heritage Common, or the many others across all walks of life who are blessed by his daily civic and faith-driven life of service.

> Arrival and Social Hour Music by The Wobblies

Welcome Susan Grabski, Executive Director, Lawrence History Center Alberto Nuñez, Syramad Properties, Inc.

Speakers

Jessica Andors and Bill Traynor, *Current and Former Executive Directors, Lawrence CommunityWorks* Bridget Shaheen, *Former Executive Director, Lazarus House* Fr. Martin Hyatt, *Armand's Brother; St. Basil Seminary*

Award Presentation

Gary Sidell, Nominator / The Wobblies Claudia Dengler, Daughter of the late, great Eartha Dengler Mark Cutler, President, Lawrence History Center Board of Directors

> Acceptance Speech Armand M. Hyatt

Closing Remarks

The Lawrence History Center was founded as the *Immigrant City Archives* in 1978 by German immigrant Eartha Dengler. Its mission is *to collect, preserve, share, and animate the history and heritage of Lawrence and its people.*

Since 1998, LHC has held the **Eartha Dengler History Award Ceremony** to spotlight the efforts and accomplishments of outstanding leaders who work to improve life in Lawrence for those who live and work in the city.

Previous Eartha Dengler History Award Recipients

Eartha Dengler Jessica Andors Sheila Balboni James Beauchesne Joseph G. Bella Lou Bernieri Margot Bixby Laurie Bottiger Dave Burke Tom Caffrey Ralph Carrero Leslie Costello Sabrina Dorsainvil Benny and Mory Espaillat Kay Berthold Frishman Rich Gorham GLYPN-Greater Lawrence Young Professional Network Patricia Karl Terri Kelley Arthur Khoury Marc Laplante Phil Laverriere Misael Martinez David Meehan Michael P. Miller The Paley Family Richard Purinton Chet Sidell Gary Sidell Jurg Siegenthaler Linda Siegenthaler Jonas Stundzia Manuela Su Helen Tory Bill Traynor Martha Lopez Velez Larry Yameen Juan C. Yepez Luis E. Yepez

2020 - 2021 DENGLER AWARD HOST COMMITTEE

Jessica Andors Executive Director, Lawrence CommunityWorks

Associate Professor Llana Barber Author, "Latino City"

Wendy Estrella, Esq. Estrella Law Office

Kristen Harol President, The Life Initiative

Karen Ruebel Hyatt Armand's Wife

Fr. Martin Hyatt Armand's Brother, St. Basil Seminary

Michael Morris, Jr., Esq. Morris, Rossi & Hayes Marianne Paley Nadel Community Advocate

Daniel Rivera President and CEO, MassDevelopment

Bridget Shaheen Retired Executive Director, Lazarus House

Gary Sidell Bell Tower Management

Lisa Torrisi Jackson Lumber & Millwork

Bill Traynor Past Executive Director, Lawrence CommunityWorks Kendrys Vasquez Mayor, City of Lawrence

EVENT ADVISORS

Marcia Sharp and Pamela Yameen

BOARD OF DIRECTORS, 2020 - 2021

President Mark Cutler Vice President Glennys Sánchez Treasurer Mark Svendsen Secretary Sara Morin Immediate Past President Kathleen Curry Whimpper Barahona Anil "Nilly" DaCosta Robert Forrant Mary Guerrero Michael Hearn Karen Van Welden-Herman Andy Kelley Ellen Minzner Michael W. Morris, Jr., Esq. Jineyda Tapia Board Member Emeritus Chet Sidell (1941 - 2018) Honorary Board Member Claudia Dengler Executive Director Susan Grabski

Founding Director Eartha Dengler



6 Essex Street | Lawrence, MA 01840 | www.lawrencehistory.org